Ottawa, ON

CanaDAM 2021 | 25-28 May 2021 | online

The conference will be scheduled for the Eastern time zone.


The conference will follow its usual format. There will be plenary talks, a public interest talk, and invited mini-symposia, as well as contributed talks and contributed mini-symposia. Please scroll down for submission information.

Invited Plenary Speakers

Laboratoire Bordelais de Recherche en Informatique

Simon Fraser University

University of Victoria

McGill University

London School of Economics

Georgia Tech University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Public Interest

Einstein Institute of Mathematics, Hebrew University

Invited Minisymposia

Modelling epidemics on graphs (TBA)
Enumerative combinatorics (TBA)
Extremal Combinatorics (Natasha Morrison)
Structural graph theory (Sergey Norin)
Combinatorial Optimization (Laszlo Vegh)
Posets, Planarity and Sparsity (Tom Trotter)
Discrete geometry (Yufei Zhao)
In honour of Pavol Hell (Gary MacGillivray)
Sparsity (Zdeněk Dvořák) 
Probabilistic Approaches (Jozef Skokan) 
Approximation Algorithms (Chaitanya Swamy)

Conference Themes

The general topic of the conference is the theory and application of discrete structures. Its goal is to highlight the most salient trends in the field. The conference will bring together researchers from the various disciplines with which discrete and algorithmic mathematics interact. Particular areas of interest include graphs and digraphs, hypergraphs, matroids, ordered sets, designs, coding theory, enumeration, combinatorics of words, discrete optimization, discrete and computational geometry, lattice point enumeration, combinatorial algorithms, computational complexity, and applications of discrete and algorithmic mathematics, including (but not limited to) web graphs, computational biology, telecommunication networks, and information processing.

The meeting will be held 100% online. Many thanks to the Canadian Mathematical Society for helping to make that possible. Previous CanaDAM Conferences were held at Banff in 2007Montréal in 2009Victoria in 2011,  St. Johns in 2013, Saskatoon in 2015,  Toronto in 2017, and Vancouver in 2019.  

Abstract Submission

Click here to submit a talk and abstract for a contributed or an invited talk.


Registration is open up to and during the meeting. 

Minisymposium Submission

Submission deadlines: February 28 (acceptance by March 15) for both contributed mini symposia and talks.

Executive and Organizing Committee

Shannon Fitzpatrick (University of PEI)
Angele Hamel (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Gary MacGillivray, Chair (University of Victoria)
Marni Mishna (Simon Fraser University)
Mike Molloy (University of Toronto)
Karen Meagher (University of Regina)
Mike Newman (University of Ottawa)
Ortrud Oellermann (University of Winnipeg)
David Pike (Memorial University)


Marthe Bonamy (University of Bordeaux)
Prosenjit Bose (Carleton University)
David Conlon (California Institute of Technology)
Daniel Cranston (Virginia Commonwealth University)
Angele Hamel  (Wilfrid Laurier University) — EC representative to the PC
Hamed Hatami (McGill University)
Katharina Huber (University of East Anglia)
Andrew King (D-wave)
Yusuke Kobayashi (Kyoto University)
Piotr Micek (Jagiellonian University)
Peter Nelson (University of Waterloo)
Laura Sanita (University of Waterloo)
Robert Sedgewick (Princeton University)
Adrian Vetta (McGill University)